Yeovil Railway Centre

From £5.50 To £20

The Yeovil Railway Centre is a railway museum next to Yeovil Junction railway station, which features Yeovil Junction’s former turntable and a section of track that is used for a heritage railway.

The centre was created in 1993 in an effort to preserve Yeovil Junction’s turntable after British Rail’s decision to close it.

Yeovil Junction railway station's turntable is one of the central features of the Yeovil Railway Centre. (Photo: William [CC BY-SA 2.0])
Yeovil Junction railway station’s turntable is one of the central features of the Yeovil Railway Centre. (Photo: William [CC BY-SA 2.0])

What to see at the Yeovil Railway Centre

The turntable is the museum’s highlight, although there is plenty more to see including a transfer shed from the 1860s and a water tower that was built to service steam locomotives. The Yeovil Railway Centre is also home to a small collection of diesel and steam locomotives.

The museum also maintains a 400m (¼ mile) stretch of track on the Clifton Maybank spur that is used for demonstration trains. However, these trains only run on special ‘train days’. There is also a model railway and a miniature steam railway, however, this is also usually only open on ‘train days’.

The Yeovil Railway Centre also operates a programme of occasional heritage railway services to Exeter or Weymouth using steam trains.

Visiting the Yeovil Railway Centre

The Yeovil Railway Centre is located adjacent to Yeovil Junction railway station and its location means that it is easiest to visit if you drive or arrive by rail as buses between the station and the town centre do not operate on Sundays when the centre is usually open.

It is best to visit on a ‘train day’ when heritage trains and the turntable are operating and when the model railway is open to visitors. The Yeovil Railway Centre also operates a number of other special events including Driver Experience Days, when you can learn to drive a steam train and Santa Specials, which combine a steam train ride with a visit from Father Christmas.

Entry costs £5.50 on a diesel train day and £11 on a steam train day and £20 (£15 if booked in advance) on a Santa Special.

See below for a list of special events planned for 2023:

Sunday 19 March 2023Steam train day
Sunday 9 April 2023Steam train day with Peter Rabbit and Easter egg hunt
Monday 10 April 2023Steam train day with Peter Rabbit and Easter egg hunt
Sunday 23 April 2023Steam train day
Sunday 30 April 2023Model railway collectors' swapmeet
Sunday 7 May 2023Steam train day/pirate day
Saturday 13 May 2023Model railway weekend/steam train day
Sunday 14 May 2023Model railway weekend/steam train day
Saturday 20 May 2023Main Line steam day (Exeter–London via Yeovil)
Tuesday 30 May 2023Diesel train day
Sunday 4 June 2023Steam train day
Sunday 18 June 2023Steam train day
Tuesday 27 June 2023Main line steam train day
Sunday 2 July 2023Steam train/turntable day
Sunday 9 July 2023Main line steam train day
Tuesday 25 July 2023Diesel train day
Saturday 29 July 2023Steam train day/tractor day
Sunday 30 July 2023Steam train day/tractor day
Tuesday 1 August 2023Diesel train day
Sunday 6 August 2023Steam train day
Tuesday 8 August 2023Diesel train day
Tuesday 15 August 2023Diesel train day
Sunday 20 August 2023Steam train day
Tuesday 22 August 2023Diesel train day
Tuesday 29 August 2023Diesel train day
Sunday 3 September 2023Steam train day
Sunday 10 September 2023Model railway collectors' swapmeet
Sunday 17 September 2023Steam train day
Saturday 28 October 2023Halloween disco with steam train
Tuesday 31 October 2023 Halloween night with steam train
Saturday 2 December 2023Tea with Santa
Sunday 3 December 2023Santa Special
Saturday 9 December 2023Tea with Santa
Sunday 10 December 2023Santa Special
Saturday 16 December 2023Santa Special
Sunday 17 December 2023Santa Special
Thursday 21 December 2023Santa Special
Saturday 23 December 2023Santa Special

If you’re not visiting for one of these special events, you are able to visit the platform shop every Sunday between 10am and noon, although you are limited by what you can see if you’re not visiting on a ‘train day’.

There is a small gift shop with railway-related books and collectables as well as a small cafe inside the transfer shed.

Allow 1–2 hours for your visit to the Yeovil Railway Centre.

Amenities
  • Cafe/restaurant
  • Gift shop

There are no comments yet.

Submit your review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Plan your next trip to England with us

Planning a trip to England? englandrover.com is your independent source of travel information with information about how to get around, what to see and do and where to stay on your next trip to England.

Plan your next trip to England with us

Planning a trip to England? englandrover.com is your independent source of travel information with information about how to get around, what to see and do and where to stay on your next trip to England.

The South

The Midlands

The North

Back to England Rover home

Copyright 2018–2023 by BUG Travel Publishing Ltd.

Back to England Rover home

Copyright 2018–2023 BUG Travel Publishing Ltd

Login

Register

Your personal data will be used to support your experience throughout this website, to manage access to your account, and for other purposes described in our privacy policy.

Already have account?

Lost Password

Please enter your username or email address. You will receive a link to create a new password via email.